1 2 3 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9
Showing 1 - 20 of 172 items
  • Wythe County Courthouse
    Located in Downtown Wytheville, Wythe County Courthouse is open for genealogy information Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM.  Enjoy the site of the historic building and monuments located outside.  The Wythe County Genealogical and Historical Association is also located in Downtown Wytheville for further information.  Shops, attractions, restaurants, hotels, museums, parks and more are located just minutes
  • Wythe/Bland Artisans and Heritage Trails
    In the counties of Wythe and Bland, we are blessed with scenic beauty, historic and cultural attractions and a wealth of talented artisans that produce everything from handwoven scarves to unique sculptures made from recycled materials. This trail will lead travelers to local artisans, artisan sales centers, heritage sites and other points of interest-all telling a vibrant story of
  • Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Museum
    Come visit the birthplace and childhood home of First Lady Edith Bolling Wilson. Born and raised in Wytheville, Edith Bolling Wilson is a descendant of Pocahontas and the only Appalachian-born First Lady. As one of only eight historic sites across the country dedicated to the interpretation of a First Lady, the museum tells the story of the overlooked, yet vitally
  • African American Heritage Museum
    HOURS 12 PM to 5 PM :  Our New Children's Library Showcases Achievements of African Americans. Photos, Stories and Memorabilia tell a History of African American Education in Wythe County. Free Admission, Donations Appreciated A non-profit community organization was established in 2000 to preserve the historic Wytheville Training School. The school was constructed in 1882 for African American children and
  • Haller-Gibboney Rock House Museum
    Historic house museum was built in 1823. Home of Wytheville's first resident physician. Collection includes period furnishings, personal mementos, medical records and supplies from the 1800's, and a small museum of local artifacts. There is an herb garden with plants typically grown in the 19th.
  • Harmon’s Museum
    The Harmon Museum has an interesting array of artifacts. The museum exhibits numerous historical artifacts from the Carroll County Courthouse Courtroom Shooting of March 1912, Colonial era, Native American tools, Civil War, World War II, Baldwin Felts Detective Agency, early coal mining relics, and pioneer tools - just to name a few. The museum is located along Route 58 West
  • Buffalo Mountain Presbyterian Church
    Nestled in the Blue Ridge Plateau of Southwestern (Carroll County) Virginia, the Buffalo Mountain Presbyterian Church is the "Mother Church" of six rock churches established by Rev. Bob Childress. Subject of the book, The Man Who Moved a Mountain, by Richard C. David (1970), the BMPC is the largest of the six rock churches. The church was organized in 1927,
  • Tazewell, Historic Town of
    Before the pioneers arrived, Tazewell County was a hunting ground for Native Americans.  Tazewell County was created on December 20, 1799.  The land was taken from portions of Wythe and Russell Counties.  Tazewell was first named Jeffersonville after Thomas Jefferson who was named the third President that same year.  On February 29, 1892 the town of Jeffersonville was renamed Tazewell.
  • Crab Orchard Museum & Pioneer Park
    Historic Crab Orchard Museum preserves the cultural heritage of the Appalachian Region with exhibits on the 500 year-old Native American Village discovered on site, Pioneer Life, and military conflicts, such as the Revolutionary and Civil Wars. See the animals of Southwest Virginia, such as the turkey, black bear, and Bald Eagle, along with the infamous "varmint," a coyote credited with
  • Patrick County Courthouse
    Located in historic uptown Stuart, this Patrick County Courthouse was designed and built by Abram Staples and completed in 1822. It displays many characteristics of Jefferson-inspired court buildings in the eastern and central portions of the
  • White Cemetery
    White Cemetery is a beautifully maintained graveyard. It originally started as small family plot but expanded to a community graveyard. Many Confederate soldiers rest here, including, James Henry Langhorne, Jacob Kent Langhorne, William Munford Ellis, and Major George Anderson. There is plenty of parking and near several other points of interest in this section of the county. Hours: Dawn to
  • Meadowbrook Museum
    The Meadowbrook Museum Branch of the Montgomery Museum is located in the Meadowbrook Center.  The Center currently houses a branch of the Montgomery-Floyd Regional Library, a community room, an art gallery and a YMCA.Meadowbrook Museum features historic artifacts, documents and photos relating to the eastern part of Montgomery County.  This section of the county once included six plantations and three
  • Palmer Mill
    See the beauty of a replica water powered Grist Mill plus the environmental features associated with the unusual surrounding habitat. The Mill houses a community theatre and the working mechanisms from the oldest Plantation style mill in Washington County, Virginia. Previous productions have included A Tuna Christmas, You Can’t Take It With You, Annie, Steel Magnolias, Sanders Family Christmas, and
  • Madam Russell Methodist Church and Cabin
    Visit the church which was named as a memorial to Madam Russell, Patrick Henry's sister. Walk through the original portion of the church and see many beautiful features, including the magnificent stain glass windows. Tour the replica cabin of Madam Russell and enjoy stories of her tremendous influence throughout the years. The lives that Madam Russell touched are limitless, by
  • Elizabeth Cemetery
    The Elizabeth Cemetery was associated with Elizabeth Church which is thought to have been the oldest Methodist church built in Smyth County. The land for the church and the cemetery was donated by Elizabeth Henry Campbell Russell "Madam Russell" in 1825. Located in Saltville near the civil war battlefield, this cemetery has graves dating from the time of the land
  • King-Stuart House
    The cabin was occupied from its beginning (circa 1795) through the 1960s. See the many visible indicators of the numerous transitional modernization periods the cabin has experienced. The original builders of the cabin probably never envisioned the cabins life expectancy nor the influence its occupants would have on the cultural developments. Enjoy the stories relating to the various families occupying
  • Saltville, Historic Town
    During the Civil War, the North battled to gain control of this town, the main supplier of the salt the Confederate army used to preserve meat. See restored fortifications, battle relics at the town museum. Other historic sites: Salt Park, with reconstructed salt furnace; replica of cabin where Patrick Henry's sister lived and other historic buildings; two steam
  • Veterans’ Memorial Park, Rocky Mount
    Located along the Pigg River, Veterans' Memorial Park is a tranquil reminder of the honor, courage, and sacrifice of local soldiers, sailors, airmen and marines who served and/or lost their lives while preserving our freedoms. A central monument lists the names of the area's fallen soldiers and the conflicts that claimed their lives, surrounding the monument are inscribed brick pavers
  • Historic Rocky Mount Train Depot
    The former Norfolk & Western (N&W) Freight Station, now known as the Rocky Mount Train Depot, is a rare surviving railroad station with historical significance for its role in the development of Rocky Mount as an agricultural and manufacturing center. Built in 1907 by N&W, this elongated one-story rectangular wood frame building (a typical example of standard-issue corporate design) served
  • Kay’s Corner Cleaners and Alterations – Historic Building
    Constructed in 1890, the former Reynold's Restaurant, now known as Kay's Corner, is one of the last remaining frame commercial buildings in Rocky Mount's Central Business District. This historically important building functioned as a restaurant with apartments at the entrance to town at Route 40. It was probably the first commercial structure to be encountered when entering Rocky Mount from